hatfield broad oak  parish council Site last updated 16 March, 2020

Chairman: Mark Lemon

Email: cllrlemon@hatfieldheath.com

Mark has have lived in Hatfield Heath since 1968, and has always enjoyed being involved in the Community Life of the village. He is married and has four grandchildren. He is a District Councillor, has been Chairman of the Uttlesford District Council and is currently the only Independent member. He has served on various Committees including Standards -Licensing -The new boundaries Group and attend the Cabinet meetings.

He was Chairman of governors at Hatfield Heath CP School for nearly 30 years, and has been involved in the Village Hall, The United Reformed Church, the Jubilee and Festival Committees. His interests include gardening, beekeeping, golf and Rotary.

Councillor: Bob Jones

Email: cllrjones@hatfieldheath.com

Bob has lived in the village for nearly thirty years.

During that time he has been actively involved in village life through such things as the Residents Association, the Festival and other events and the Bowls Club.

As a Parish Councillor he has tried to be involved in improving amenities and has a special interest in airport matters and developing the playground.

Councillor: Geoff Owen

Email : cllrowen@hatfieldheath.com

I have lived locally most of my life, and moved to Hatfield Heath in 2000, with my family. I am married to Bridget, with three daughters all having schooled at Hatfield Heath primary school.

I hope I am able to help the parish council and the village continue to improve. We enjoy living in such a lovely area. I bring with me the experience of running my own business with my business partner for over 20 years.

You might see me from time to time on the heath cutting part of the church yard.

Vice Chairman : David Parish

Email: cllrparish@hatfieldheath.com

David has lived in Hatfield Heath for 40 years and served on Heath Players committee for 20 years. He has learned a lot about the surrounding area and has an understanding of our Residents needs.

He is on committees at Uttlesford District Council acting on your behalf and is very concerned about what effects the parish so is well positioned to serve you.

Councillor : Mark Bissell

Email: cllrbissell@hatfieldheath.com

I am 41 years of age and moved to the village in 2006

I am married to Claire and we have three children of 12,9 & 4 years of age respectively.

Our oldest daughter has gone through Hatfield Heath Primary school and our other two are embarking on the same journey.

I have met and made good friends with a number of people and parents who live in the village  and socialise regularly.

I enjoy running and keeping fit along with spending time with my family.

I hope to bring a representation to the parish council of a parent of young children growing up in the village. Through my friend network in the village I may also be able to bring their thoughts and concerns as well as relay messages back.

Councillor : Nigel Robley

Email: cllrrobley@hatfieldheath.com

I have lived in Hatfield Heath for the past 32 years and have travelled and lived abroad extensively as part of my career as an Automotive Professional, initially working for Ford Motor Company and for the last few years as an Independent Consultant to the industry.  

My wife Carole and I have always been actively involved in the community, both formally and informally.  

I hope that now I am semi-retired and have the time, I can bring my extensive engineering and business knowledge to further help the community through membership of the Parish Council.

Councillor : Colin Skyrme

Email: cllrskyrme@hatfieldheath.com

Colin was elected in May 2015. He and his wife Pat have lived in Hatfield Heath ​since 1979​, raising their two  sons here.

His newspaper career started over fifty years ago as a junior reporter on a local weekly, reporting Parish Council meetings.  He enjoyed many years working for the commercial side of The Guardian.

He has chaired Dunmow Round Table and Forty One Club, Barnetson Court residential home, the Essex Regional Committee of Old Ben & was the last Chair of Hatfield Heath's Villagers' Association. Hobbies include The 17th C : all books - coinage - seals & art. Gliding: Classic cars - Mercedes-Benz Concourse Judge and Model secretary for W220 models and a Member of MGCSCC.

Councillor : Chris Overton

Email: cllroverton@hatfieldheath.com

Chris was co-opted in December 2015.

Councillor : Ian Fitzgerald

Email: cllrfitzgerald@hatfieldheath.com

Ian was co-opted in June 2015.


These Councillors and members of the parish have been elected to the following committees and working groups


Personnel Committee

Cllrs Vanessa Ambler,  Tessa Pemberton, Susan Smith

Personnel Appeals Committee

Cllrs Terry Marsh, Mark Strutt, Chris Webb

Open Spaces Committee

Cllrs Keith Artus, Vanessa Ambler, Oliver Nancarrow, Terry Marsh, Mark Strutt,

Working Groups

Pedestrian and Road Safety

Cllrs Susan Smith (Leader),  Keith Artus, Tracy Brown,


Cllrs  Susan Smith (Leader), Keith Artus,

Website & Social Media

Cllrs Vanessa Ambler,  Mark Strutt,

Grant Requests

Cllrs Vanessa Ambler, Keith Artus, Tracy Marsh,